Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

The Hobbit

I'm a big fan of Lord of The Rings, books & films. Got the super duper extra special DVD sets, and fondly remember the anticipation of going to see each of Peter Jackson's trilogy as they were released around Christmas time. So when I heard The Hobbit was out this Christmas there was little doubt we were going to see it.

Hadn't followed the hype on the film, so chatting about it beforehand was surprised to hear it had been split into three films too - seemed to be pushing it a bit for a relatively short and relatively straightforward book. Anyway I can report that the special effects are equally as special as the Lord of The Rings trilogy, but really that's as good as it gets. Three hours of action, with little or no character development, little or no plot and no conclusion won't be getting me rushing back to the cinema next year. Wish we'd gone to see The Life of Pi instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.