Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Water Rat

Posting this in May 2019 about 57 years late, after my daughter sent the photo of the document after it had just been re-discovered. She offered to bring it over on her next visit but did ask if I was not interested, whether she could keep it as it "was vintage now".

I was chuffed at her request, especially as she said she would like to frame it rather than put me in the cellar for another decade or so.

I guess in July 1962, with only weeks to go before I was to be "torn away" from the place I had been born & lived at ever since I was probably somewhat apprehensive of being sent to school in the UK & only being allowed home once a year in the summer holidays.

I honestly can't remember how I did feel. There were friends who were to suffer the same fate & some of them had elder brothers who had survived. It was the "norm" back then in colonial Britain.

The pool & club, as well as the house I lived in back then all, still exist unchanged to this day but the diving platform that cost me a tooth has been removed.

Here a Facebook page which includes a video of some of the scenes including the pool - the clubhouse really is unchanged. Unbelievable.

PS I was checking out on the web for details about the BP Beach Camp School which was directly next to the Club and clicked on a directions link. This told me it was 7,690km by "drone". When I clicked on that, it responded by saying " Looks like a job for a jet"!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.