Moving Day

What a day! Awake at 05:11 and decided to get up and do final packing before the removal men arrived at 08:30.

Mad panic to get the first load onto the van before 11am as rain was forecast. Just as the last piece of furniture was squeezed in the heavens opened so we took a tea break before heading to the new place.

This picture was taken as the first boxes came in. The removal team were great and made a stressful event much less so.

The guys left at 530pm with the second van unloaded and with a crate of beer and chocolates from me. I whizzed to my friend’s house five mins away with a few non-essential items for storage in her shed and a much welcomed cuppa. I figured I wouldn’t be breadmaking, cakemaking or camping in the next few weeks so the bread machine, Kenwood mixer and sleeping bag can be stored.

My friend has a stinking cold and Biggles her dog was howling at me for a walk. So I put on my mac and walked Biggles in drizzly rain for 40 mins. I actually enjoyed it after the hectic day.

The next three hours I spent back at the old cottage sorting through office ‘toot’. Mostly old financial paperwork and university essays and two boxes of random electrical items, phone chargers, cables etc. Why do we keep all this stuff? I’ve kept a box of items I think could belong to something or be useful spares and the rest are going to the tip! My important university and school work I’ve kept but the rest is getting burnt. You just can’t keep it all!

Got back to the new place at 10pm and the lock on the door to the flat turned around and round in the barrel. It’s a brand new lock but I suspect it’s not right.

Spent 10 mins sliding heavy boxes (quietly) around the kitchen floor to get to the microwave to heat up a ping meal. Then a knock on the door and it’s my downstairs neighbour asking what I was doing as “it’s the middle of the night and we can hear every footstep?!” Errrrr not a great start.

Apologised, ate my ping meal, drank wine and surveyed the many boxes to unpack feeling exhausted and missing the cottage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.