The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Crossing Over

My brother passed away in September of 2018, and was featured in my Blip entitled, Traveling Man.

He was a civil engineer who adored bridges.  This walking bridge was one of his projects from back in 2013-2014.  He loved this little bridge, and I discovered why when I saw it for the first time.

It crosses a large stream called Choconut Creek, once home to Native Americans.  The surrounding area includes the forests and river beds of the Susquehanna River, which I featured in yesterday's Blip.

I often write and photograph about things that are special to me and my family, and this is one of those captures.

My brother was almost two decades older than me, but we shared a love of Frank Lloyd Wright and the Mission style.  Simple, yet elegant.

For me, this bridge, and the way it casts its shadow, reminds me of John, and the way he made people smile.

We were different in many ways, and I know my creative spirit often frustrated him.  But, there wasn't any chance that I'd follow in the family footsteps of our father, and pursue engineering over music.

So, thank you to my Blipworld friends, who support my effort and allow me to wax on through The Love Child Chronicles.

Much love,

Mel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.