An Old Airman's Life

By 1VintageAirman

Homemade spaghetti noodles

Went to my grandson's school to help the preschoolers make spaghetti from scratch.  Five-year-old kids love to play in flour.  Watching them crack eggs was so funny.  The look of amazement as they cranked an adult fist size piece of dough through the rollers and made ever LONGER and thinner pieces.  When it went through the cutter, they all were delighted.  The first time.  And the second time.  But by the last fist of dough needed rolling, it was just me and the two smallest girls in class.  The rest were off in other parts of the classroom playing.  The littlest girl started cranking with great difficulty.  I nearly took over, but I didn't want to tell her she couldn't do it.  I believe one should NEVER tell another that the person is unable.  Better to find a way to enable.  We became a team.  I held the machine steady.  One girl would crank while the other girl fed the dough into the top.  The goal was achieved.  Smiling faces all around,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.