CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

From a Purton hulk, looking upstream

After my dental check-up this morning I thought I'd take the opportunity of the fine weather to explore the Berkeley Deer Park. Sadly, I couldn't even find it. Instead I drove a little further on to Purton where I knew I could walk along the banks of the River Severn. In my mind I thought I'd recce for possible places to photograph the Tall Ships which are arriving on Thursday at the local port, Sharpness, before they sail inland along the canal to Gloucester for the big festival next weekend.

I found the old riverside path and went south beside the river which was at a very low ebb. It was delightfully quiet and peaceful with a few sea birds calling from the direction of the river. Without planning it mI came to the section of riverbank separating the Severn from the first section of canal. 

After the Second World War there was a gradual policy of beaching old barges and boats against the muddy banks to both get rid of the wrecks as well as strengthening the banks. The Friends of Purton is a Society dedicated to protecting the Purton Hulks, and they have provided small plaques close to each wreck.

I stood on the concreted remains of one of the abandoned barges, the most northerly one, to take this picture. You can see the long old iron rudder handle leaning over the edge of the reedy bank.  The view is looking upstream away from the long line of hulks which are dotted at  odd angles in the mud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.