Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Today and long ago

A day of showers and so have yet to venture further than the garden. These are the delicate leaves of Sorbaria sorbifolia, the false spiraea, a member of the rose family. The plant grows naturally in temperate areas of Asia including Siberia, the Soviet Far East of Russia, northern China, Japan and Korea.

I spent much of the morning scanning a few more of my multitude of old Kodachrome slides. The extra was taken about 45 years ago on my lovely old Leica 3b. It shows the tiny kitchen in our first flat in Aberdeen. When we moved in the kitchen was in a sad state with the plaster falling off the walls etc. Being as we were impecunious I set too and refurbished it myself; plumbing, electricals and pine cladding all my own work. Oh where have my energy and enthusiasm gone to?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.