Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

East vs. West

When I got out of the car to photograph prairie dogs I didn't take my super zoom camera and I was halfway into a muddy field when I spotted these birds.  They were too far away for my 400 mm lens and I had no idea what they were until I got home, downloaded and cropped.  On the left is an Eastern Kingbird and on the right is a Western Kingbird.  Their territories overlap in Colorado. :-)  Both shots are heavily cropped and fuzzy but I couldn't resist blipping them anyway.  I actually got a few shots of them in the same frame but they were hardly distinguishable.  So, no prairie dogs today but I will be going back with my mud boots because someone on the trail told me that there are babies just big enough to be coming out of their holes. :-)

I am grateful that all our rain and snow has made everything so beautifully green....but I would love to see the sun again, even for a few hours!!

Sorry I haven't had time to visit journals and it will probably be a few more days before I can start to catch up.  I have to get ready now to meet my girlfriends for our monthly dinner tonight.  Maybe I can sneak in a few hours tomorrow....   Dinner got cancelled.  One of the group comes down from the foothills and it's snowing hard up there!  Someday it will be summer.  In the meantime, we haven't been in a hurry to get our camper ready for the season.  It's too cold!  Good news is that I have time for Blip tonight. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.