Gaia

Friday 24th May 2019

I've fitted quite a bit in to today, despite a rather tired start. 

I went down to the Cathedral, for the Eucharist and then lunch. It is an annual invitation from one of the Canons, a dear gentleman. I was surprised to find Gaia in place. I knew it started soon. (I didn't see the moon when it was here last year) It isn't officially open, they were still setting up. There was a wonderful viewing point under the bridge but as I was late I decided to take the photo later, pity I only had my phone with me. When we had finished lunch I was shocked to find that they had installed a large screen just where I wanted to be and the viewing point was now out of bounds. However, there are advantages to being with someone well known in the cathedral who acts as one of the guides. He took me straight through the barrier so I could get the angle I wanted.

More chores this afternoon, including the shopping. Huddsbird is arriving this evening and my cupboards were bare. I thought she would appreciate having some food in the house!   This evening, however, we have booked into a lovely Italian restaurant that we found by chance last time. 

**********************

Info below taken from the Cathedral website, more details on the website.


Gaia, meaning the personification of the earth, is a huge, seven-metre replica of the earth created by renowned artist Luke Jerram.

One of the key pieces in the Changing Tides creative programme, Gaia features 120dpi detailed NASA imagery of the earth's surface and is an opportunity to see our planet (to scale) floating above your head in Liverpool Cathedral.

The 3D installation will rotate once every four minutes, 360 times faster than our real planet. During certain times of the day, you’ll be able to experience Gaia with a specially made surround sound composition by BAFTA award-winning composer Dan Jones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.