Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

That Bar Is Toast

Today Elena's Soul, formerly called LeRoy's Showcase Lounge, was destroyed by a fire that is said to have started in the kitchen. The bar was closed and the upstairs tenants were out of town, but there is concern about possibly trapped pets having been harmed.

Over ten years ago I accidentally came across a news article from 1908, when a saloon at this address was applying for its liquor license and the two large churches nearby were opposing it. That's 104 years ago: all the longtime residents around here have some kind of memory of it, whether they drink or not. It's four blocks from me and I've been here over 20 years.

The fire lasted around five hours. I'm off visiting family but I'll dig out my ancient article and blip the ruined bar with more history after I get back to West Philly.

HERE is my friend's blip of the same fire and HERE is the earliest regular news piece on it --with flames roaring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.