Looking South

By 13south

Jonathan not Junior

The gull saga continues.  An adult herring gull has been drinking from my bird bath daily.  I thought it might be Junior who, together with his parents, visited the garden regularly in 2014. They became  blipstars for a while.

This morning I heard a knocking sound.  To my consternation my pet gull was on the patio and knocking on the French windows in the hope of being let in to the kitchen!Now I think he's Jonathan.

Jonathan crash - landed in my garden in 2016, probably on his maiden flight.  He too became a blipstar.  After a few days it was obvious that there were no adult gull parents looking out for him, that he couldn't fly out and couldn't forage for himself.  So I fed him and contacted a wildlife refuge.  A very nice man came and collected him.  

When I was feeding him I tried to keep personal contact to the minimum and just left out food, but he hung around the French windows a lot and gulls have excellent eyesight.  They can spot a crust of bread from cloud height.  So I have a nasty feeling he imprinted on me and has come back to find the person he thinks of as his mum.  There's not much I can do about it, except keep the French windows closed - or I'll find him in the kitchen making himself a sandwich!  I just hope he goes off and finds himself a nice gullfriend.

The extra shows Jonathan as he was in 2016.

This will do for Silly Saturday I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.