Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Happy Happy Ding Ding...

To quote a Hong Kong Tram advertising TV campaign, "Happy Happy, Ding Ding".  That being the nickname given to them by the locals.  The sharp eyed amongst you will already spotted that this isn't a Hong Kong tram but a Melbourne Class W type, one of a batch of 752 built from 1925 - 1956.

Still wondering what it's doing on here?  (No - OK move along the blips please). Yes?  Well I'll tell you.  Rothesay had trams so there's a precedent for having a tram on my Port Appin diorama and Campbeltown had a steam passenger railway running to Machrihanish so I can safely say there were railed passenger vehicles along the west coast of Scotland beyond the big cities.  

Yesterday I Blipped a friend's Soller tram model and this has set me off thinking again about trams to Port Appin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.