Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Things Canoli get better

A little while ago I saw a list on the Great British Chefs website of the seven best Italian delis in the UK.  The great Edinburgh institution, Valvona and Crolla, where we had breakfast a couple of times on our March trip, was included, but much nearer to home was a deli in St Albans.  W needed to be there this morning so I went down with her to visit.  What a great little shop!  Loads of wonderful Italian food; I ended up spending a small fortune including getting some imported sausages and arancini, and some different types of pasta.  Amongst my purchases were these genuine Sicilian canolis; I always say I don't have a sweet tooth but that just means I don't crave sweet things, but I still enjoy them when I have them.  This is exactly the sort of thing I like if I'm having something sweet and the added bonus is that W doesn't like them so I get them all to myself!

Did I mention the miniature pannetone soaked in dessert wine?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.