Thistle Down

By Ethel

Owl Situation

This is my old, broken down guard owl. I think he (no idea why it would be a ‘he’) attracted’ owls to our cabin. Two days ago we arrived to a big mess on the deck and the windows looked like there had been a war on them. We couldn’t figure it out because we never saw the owls, but locals quickly identified the situation. Two owls plus baby owls (owlets) learning to fly in front of the picture windows. The whole cabin smelled like a barn and it took many hours to hose it and scrub it down. Several owl pellets were scattered around. I had never heard of ‘owl pellets’ before and my Google search was very interesting. It was most likely barn owls. They are a protected species in Idaho. I would love to have seen them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.