snailspace

By snailspace

Backblip 24 May: Viviers

We had intended to spend one night In Viviers, a cathedral city on the Rhone. As it turned out, we spent three nights there due to a disappearing cat...

My bad back and the heat were against me but as we had such a long time there I got to see most of the town despite mostly staying with the van in case the errant cat returned.

I did not care much for Viviers, finding the newer part of town unpleasant due to heavy traffic passing through and the older part generally run down and depressing. They tell me that the Cathedral is beautiful but I didn't get as far as looking at it, being far too hot and bothered and too sad and anxious about Chloe's absence.

Plus points: the discovery of a rather nice patisserie, at a time when we were much in need of comfort food, and the Rhone was beautiful (once we had found our way to it). We had a cooling beer at a riverside Guinguette and felt very French indeed.

Today's Extra is also very French. I loved the colours.

Note: After an absence of three nights, Chloe returned in time for our forced departure (only 3 nights allowed on the aire). All things considered we decided to leg it home, almost 600 Km, on the following day. So there are no Blips for the 25th. As I write this post, there are no Blips for the 26th either but I will try and point the camera somewhere or other before this day is out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.