OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

European Bee-eater in Orkney

I was settling down to watch the Scottish Cup final when I got a text saying that there was a bee-eater in a garden in Deerness. No contest as another text was from a friend driving out there. Fortunately the garden belongs to very nice people who have hosted rarities and the birders who want to see them before, so several people got great views. This shot is a bit far away- I took several before I realised that the card in my camera wasn't engaged properly! My fault- sometimes, when replacing the battery, the card disengages, and I hadn't noticed. Still- a great bird,- my first ever bee-eater. We watched it fly gracefully and catching several bees, which it rapped against a fence to remove the sting. And the cup final was recorded....and my team won!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.