A day in the life

By Shelling

Blakckbird

Blackbirds don't care much about what the stage looks like, as long as the message goes through, it seems. Outside my kitchen window this bird sat down for a while to sing in the tree we stripped of its branches a couple of months ago.

The blackbird is one of my absolute favourite singers, they have a huge repertoire and they are also skilful imitators of other birds, or sounds in the vicinity. Once I was living in a flat where one of the blackbirds in the garden had learnt to imitate a common mobile signal, to the annoyance among the neighbours who started to look for their phones when the bird sang. It also managed to sing a short blues phrase that probably one of the humans had whistled enough times for it to imitate it. I have myself whistled a short phrase to a blackbird and the bird repeated it very quickly with the exact intonation and rhythm. Remarkable birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.