Alberta

By Alberta

A rich day

What an unusual Christmas Day. We started with a huge buffet breakfast designed to last the day but you know how good intentions go! The main event of the day was our Skype session with all our family. First my youngest son in New Zealand. And I discovered he had received the same Christmas present as me - a GoPro Hero 3 camera for clamping to my handlebars on our bike tours. My son's is for his scuba diving. Then step daughter number four in Melbourne. She sounded very happy. Then my eldest son and his lovely wife and our expected grandchild. (Oh so exciting) (they are in the UK although she is from USA) and Christmas is a time of birth although I hope she doesn't have it just yet. The missing tooth is a rugby casualty. His US inlaws treat it like a death in the family he says with amusement! Then all my other stepdaughters one in Sydney and three in the UK currently and their children. Then Mr A's Dad. Not sure if he knew what was going on - maybe it was the pre lunch drinks! His not ours!

After all of that emotion we went to the cinema in a long slow auto (tuk tuk) ride to see The Life of Pi. We have planned to go to Pondicherry early 2013 and I had not realised that L of P was set in Pondicherry well the first part of it. We were the only white faces in the whole area. I loved the film - very Indian and very spiritual. Can anything Indian be anything else? (Although the riots in Delhi currently are saddening yet understandable) and there were so many aspects of the film that resonated with the work I do. And the actor - Suraj Sharma was one of those who held the whole screen, well the whole cinema (and Indian audiences are notoriously boisterous and inattentive (there is always an interval when they seem to get three course meals delivered. And phones go off regularly and are answered!) He has to get an Oscar surely.

Finally a wild auto ride back to the hotel down dark unpeopled streets in unfamiliar territory. Not sure if Mr A tipped him so well because he enjoyed the ride or because he was relieved we weren't driven down a back alley and finished off! Yet the driver when he eventually turned round was charming. So a cocktail to celebrate the end of a richly packed day. And to calm the nerves!

I just remembered to break that stream of consciousness into paragraphs or LadyM will be after me! Rightly so!

Our day was rich with emotion, love and events. I hope yours was good. Love to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.