Toastie

A morning of sitting on the deck of a beach cabin, getting through some work tasks. Not a bad setting at all for such an activity. Pictured here is the main beach in Pemba.

My field plans have changed as I have been invited to represent my organisation at a meeting in Tanzania, which starts tomorrow. I was due to head back into Niassa Reserve with our Conservancy Manager, but instead we’ve spent this weekend covering key topics. I’ll revisit Niassa in a few months when I can stay for at least a few weeks.

Pemba Airport is modern and simple, seeing much footfall by South Africans who holiday and run businesses here. Even in a relatively prosperous town such as Pemba, the policewoman next to the security scanner asked for money to buy refreshments. A stark reminder of the government’s inability (refusal?) to pay its staff liveable salaries, whilst lucrative oil, gas and agri-business deals are regularly signed in new conference centres next door.

A quick cheese toastie from a hatch in the airport, and I was on my way to Maputo. I am currently reading this book, on the recommendation of a friend who said it helped him with some of the motivational challenges in daily life. I whipped it out on the plane and it opened on a page entitled ‘the illogic of suicide.’ Thank goodness I was surrounded by native Portuguese and Chinese speakers whose English comprehension may not be 100%. You don’t want to indicate to fellow passengers on a plane that you are trying to end your life. Which I’m not, by the way, but these are interesting experiences to read about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.