Midnight prayers

It’s 11.45 and the car park at the mosque is filling up as people come to pray. There’s more women than I usually see. It’s considered the most special week in Ramadan and it’s a flurry of activity.

A busy day at work. The students are getting more tired but they’re pushing through. With a tired teacher there was lots of banter for my 8.30pm class as I pulled and pushed them through a lot of work. They did well.

We also had iftar provided for all staff tonight. Good to see the other departments joining us for they’re gone by 2pm when we start teaching. They’re working six hour days..

A swim to deal with excess energy.. despite a hot, dry wind and it still being 36 at 11pm, the water felt a little cool. Hopefully it’ll counteract my coffee I had at 8pm..

Dad’s birthday today. This time last year I was home..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.