BioPeek

By BioPeek

Woman Alone In A Crowd.

Sometimes, not often, when you're reviewing your takes of the day, you'll come across an image that -- while seemingly innocent at first glance -- disturbs you. Today I took one such image.

The child was just dancing out of shot-left, enjoying the classic guitar of the seated busker. I was looking for reaction shots to the busker; everyone on the right of frame was basically just visual filler for the shot. I was a little slow in getting the camera to eye but, hey-ho, that's the way it goes sometimes, and I hadn't paid attention to the whole frame. 

Come that Lightroom moment, well, I did the double-blink. What was going through the woman's mind, standing, on the right? She's eyeball down the lens straight into the sensor --- and I didn't see her. I was trying to get last of the dance within the frame. Is she in despair? Is she angry with me? Does she need help? What was going on? And, besides, what could I have done, what would I have done, if I'd been paying attention to the whole of the viewfinder?

We can get so obsessed with filling the frame, we forget to properly look at what's going to be inside it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.