Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Two views

Today I went into school for my 'Professional Update' meeting. Even although I am retired, if I want to carry on my professional registration and do some supply teaching, I have to maintain a record of learning and activities as evidence that I am keeping up and further developing my skills. Every 5 years this has to be signed off and today was my day, so I am permitted to continue my registration and teaching for another 5 years... and pay my annual registration fee! I don't really mind though. I value the fact that all teachers who want to teach in Scottish - no matter where they trained and qualified - have to have their qualifications ratified and be registered with the GTCS it maintains the standards of Scottish education.
I walked home afterwards via Polwarth, this is a view of the Union Canal looking towards its terminus at Lochrin Basin, the extra is taken looking the other direction, West. We're so lucky to have the Water of Leith as well as the Canal right in the centre of town. So much greenery and wildlife and providing routes avoiding traffic. I originally took the pictures because of the clear reflections but the differences in the buildings struck me too, those to the East being so much more modern than those to the West which are more typical of the original area. If I remember correctly the Eastern view used to be of a more industrial area and the breweries but it's all been cleared over the last 50 years as our industry, and it's dependence on canals for transport, has all but disappeared.
When I got home, C and I walked along to D'mains. 19250 steps today, not bad for my day off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.