Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hedge trimmed!

The hedge has been looming in my bay window view for weeks now. I can see it all the time, growing, growing. So with sunshine this morning, and rain due in the afternoon, I leapt out of bed when JR went to the gym and got the big ladder and the hedge trimmer out. I skipped the bike session, figuring up and down the ladder would be just as beneficial.

It was warm and sunny - hot, even - for a while. But an hour or so later the clouds came, the temperature dropped and light rain began and has stayed all day. However, I got all the sides done.

When JR and Archie went out for a walk I started on the top. I was going great guns. Though I’m a bit unsteady up at the top of the ladder, trimming the top of the hedge is really much easier than the sides. And very satisfying.

Then - wait for it - I cut the cord! Not really a cut, just a wee snip. And a wee spark. It took me ages to repair it. But it's done. For another month or so.

JR finished off the top, and did most of the sweeping up. Archie also helped with the brushing up of the leaves. Not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.