Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Ayutthaya

I took the kids on a trip to Ayutthaya today. Jim stayed in Bangkok trying to recover from the journey. We, Jim and I, did this trip way back when, pre-kids, however today I realised how big Ayutthaya is. We, Jim and I, didn't see this iconic Buddha in a Banyan tree when we went, but the kids and I didn't see the rows of Buddha's drapped in golden material that I saw last time either. One day I plan to return and stay here for a night or two and cycle round and see it all. It is so beautiful. 

First we went to the Summer palace, which was much quieter than I remembered from previously. Kids were really interested in the history and the various buildings.

Then we went to the Buddha's head. This and the rest of the complex were stunning but busy. But I am glad we managed to see it. We also went to a Wat where the guide bought my two a lotus flower each and taught them to 'make them pretty' as an offering to the Buddha. 

Finally in Ayutthaya we visited a huge reclining Buddha. There were some local shops where C and I bought some souvenirs. There was also a craftsman making wall hangings out of buffalo hide. Apparently he is the master at his craft. Will was transfixed. So much so that the guy gave Will the chance to have a go (see extra) and then gave him a keyring as a souvenir!

Finally we travelled back to Bangkok on a boat. We had a fabulous buffet and then could sit or stand and watch the world go by. It was a brilliant day for me to see the kids eye open wide at the things that they saw. Well worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.