Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Seated one day ...

Yes, the title suggests the photo subject, but it also describes far too much of my day. As the weather - which began, annoyingly, by being bright enough for the sun to wake me absurdly early - sank back into early winter mode, the sky greying ominously and a chill wind snaking round the streets, I found myself reverting to hibernating mode - not, I have to say, a familiar experience for me. I did a little desultory feeding of plants before the rain began - I had looked at the weather app to check - and I sat down to do the homework required for a day's lay training at the weekend, which felt a bit like the days when I used to prepare skeleton outlines for half a dozen Higher English Literature exam questions to show students how to set about them. Is it sad that I still enjoy this kind of thing?

However, by the time I'd caught up with all the political analysis in Sunday's Observer and uploaded all my Benmore Gardens photos to Flickr, I was fed up with sitting and marched off with Mr PB to the church, where he'd heard a strange buzzing from the organ as he practised in the morning. Turned out it was a wire lying loose in the casing where the pipes are - when certain pedal notes sounded it reacted to vibration in the pipes and the frame and ... rattled. It took some scrabbling around to fix it. I took the photo while Mr PB extemporised to test that it was ok.

When we left, we investigated a sound like water pipes coming from beside the lectern - sort of deep calling to deep in the roar of your waterfalls - and filmed the leak responsible. By now we were wet enough to have been standing in a waterfall. It was time to give up.

But it's terrible when the thing you look forward to all day is dinner ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.