A bit of fun.

For a rainy day.

Most British Blippers will know that this image relates to one of the BBC’s most famous comedy sketches in which Ronnie Barker tries to buy four (k)(c)(h) andles in a hardware store run by Ronnie Corbett. It still makes me laugh out loud when I watch the repeats, as I often do. Of course part of the pleasure now comes from the anticipation of knowing what is coming next.

But it raises an interesting point. Why is it that those of us in the older generation no longer find modern situation comedies very funny? It is not that we cannot laugh any more because we do when we watch Dad’s Army, Morecambe and Wise and of course The Two Ronnies.

Somehow contemporary sit coms seem to try too hard. They often go over the top in their attempts to amuse and they frequently try to shock and become crude in the process.

Perhaps it is just me. But I feel so lucky that at any time, at the touch of a button or two, I can still laugh until it hurts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.