A twilight blip...

... after a very long day, which saw the racegoer set off quite early by train to The Oaks. 

As the non-racegoer, I stayed behind in London. First stop was a pre-booked visit to the Shard. I spent a very enjoyable time taking photos from on high, followed by quite a lot of walking around the city, catching up on changes in recent years.

In the last ten years before I retired, I worked in the capital a good deal and it was good to take a break once I packed away my briefcase. I've enjoyed exploring again, but my feet are feeling the strain.

We decided on a simple evening meal tonight, which turned into a protracted disaster. When the main course hadn't arrived, after an hour, I asked what was happening. It transpired two kitchen staff had (as they say in Yorkshire) taken their bats home!

We did eventually get our main courses, without being charged for them, and additional wine on the house. 

By then, with a lovely evening light, I managed a few night shots, including the Shard illuminated, completing the circle for the day,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.