Gable Erratic

By MsGable

NOSS MAYO

It sounds like a Scottish salad dressing but is in fact a village on a Devon estuary. We are a bit away from the narrow and steep lanes of cottages in pure seclusion. We even have a Fig tree. Now that’s a first.

Another first was G seeing a Cirl Bunting, the reason behind him choosing this area for a visit. I did not see it as the hoped for viewing site was along the coastal path, and my knee was never going to get me up that gradient, even if the other one did its best to help. I birdwatched from the car and finished reading my book instead. Hopefully there will be another Bunting in a more accessible place during the week.

You long for retirement and the time to do all the things you want to, and then find your body doesn’t have the same ambitions. I never realised that steps and the slightest of hills was going to stop me in my tracks.

I won’t be ticking off any Munros then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.