Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Emerging lavender

Even though we felt a bit silly dressing up last night, it was very good that we made the effort as everyone had dressed up and there were some amazing outfits seen. The host has a lovely country house with park like gardens so the setting was absolutely beautiful - we even went on a little tour of the gardens which were delightful and has been a labour of love for them over many years. Drinking champagne outside on a warm night in such a beautiful setting was very pleasant indeed.

At 10pm we were 'summoned' into the marquee by the bossy DJ, who was excellent as he got everyone dancing. Being a 70'/80's disco theme he only played music from that era, which of course I know so well, and I had forgotten just how much I love that music. He had us dancing in formation to The Hustle, everyone was singing along to Abba and the Bee Gees, it was a load of fun. We had an easy drive home, both of us did not drink much, and I got to bed at about 1.30am. 

Today I felt very tired! I have lazed about, doing some ironing and sorting some photography files - it has been a non eventful day. I went out into the garden and saw that the lavender is coming in to bloom and I liked the way it looked against these pink flowers.

Tomorrow Luke writes his final exam - like Adam it is his last exam after 4 years at university, although it won't be the last exams ever for him as in September he joins an accountancy firm where he will be studying and training for three years and writing many more exams. Poor Thomas has Further Maths and Physics tomorrow, a double whammy for him.

It will be an early night for me tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.