Friend

On Saturday we made a two hour drive (round trip) to a grandchild's birthday party.  About 2 miles from the location of the party was the location of the house and large trunk tree where our grandson was killed at age 19 in a vehicle accident in November 2011.  While going back home, I recognized this man on the porch of the house.  I stopped the car and went to him to remind him of our visit the day after the accident nearly 8 years ago.  I told him about us hugging and praying in his yard.  He told me then his son was an emergency medical technician.  On Saturday, he told me the reason his son was present at the accident scene and by  being an EMT knew to call for helicopter transport for my grandson (he died en route to the hospital only 25 minutes from our house) was because his son was recuperating from a heart transplant.  He also told me his son died last year after living 7 years following the transplant.  I had a chance to thank this man again for what they did in attending to our grandson and for our visit nearly 8 years ago.  Needless to say, we talked about faith in God and shared emotions from then and now.  The black stripe on the bottom of his pocket is tape to hold the pocket closed on the bottom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.