horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Day Redeemed

I have to say, various aspects of this holiday haven't been great, the key being that the weather just hasn't played ball. We had three lovely (unexpectedly so) days, but they've been outweighed not just by the grey days, but even by those which have tipped it down.

Today was one such day. Or a day of three halves. The first we got soaked to the bone; then the world was blown to pieces; and then (while the wind continued) the sun finally made an appearance.

In the rain we went out to an RSPB reserve (Loch na Muilne) and from a distance saw three Red-necked Phalaropes - given there are only an estimated 22 breeding males in the UK (we're at the bottom of their breeding range) this is something of a rarity. Pity there was a big tour group, split over two minibuses, already at the viewpoint, standing 'in front of' the stone wall, meaning I couldn't get my month-old spotting scope out (it only has a small tripod to be easier to carry, and so I needed the wall for set-up), and relied on the big lens on the camera (ooh, play 'spot the bird' in the extras!) 

The guide rubbed me up the wrong way as well. Initially by giving the group a running commentary on abso-bloody-lutely everything the waders were doing; but then, as we headed off to the cliff where the loch runs out to the sea (as indicated on a map as you enter the reserve, and marked with posts every 50-100 yards or so), shouting after us to please keep to the left of the posts. I hate[\i] that assumption that I'm going to do something wrong - I snarkily replied that we had seen the posts, that we would keep to the side, and there was nothing to worry about (adding, under my breath, a couple of choice expletives).

We saw them leaving as we hit the coast, so I figured I'd at least be able to get the scope out on the return. And then. The heavens opened.

Late redemption in the weather at least saw us walking out to Gallan Head - recently(ish) in community hands, the site of a former MOD Cold War (and after) base. The views out to sea (in the extras) were stunning.

The main blip, however, is from a night wander up to the An Sùileachan monument / public art installation - roughly 4 minutes walk from the cottage we're staying in. Looks like I'm not going to get any clear nights the whole trip for some star trail fun and games, but I'm still after some night shots. Still not decided if I'll take a late spin to Callanish at some point - I've done that already. There's something rather atmospheric standing at these sites around midnight, with birds calling occasionally around you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.