Learning by doing

By TimGoos

The Passing Train

Winter just won't end here in Alberta. It was very cold last night; maybe -26 to -28 when I was out with my camera. I went to the east side of Edmonton where there is a large collection of petro-chemical industries. One gets these huge plumes of steam into the air and plenty of fog on the ground.

A train came past on the tracks. I set up my tripod to see what would come. The horizontal streaks in the photo reflect the passing of the train cars during the extended exposure. The smaller set of red lights is on the other side of the train -- they are weaker on the image as they just flashed in the gaps between train cars.

I spent about an hour out trying to take some images. A few minutes out of the car taking a couple and then back in for 5 minutes to warm up. Nothing too earth shattering came from it all but I am just learning extended exposure photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.