After the rain . . . .

When there was a break in the rain I had a bit of a snail hunt around the lupins.  There were a lot and they were all big, chunky, well fed ones!  

Most plants in the garden can survive the odd snail or slug, but not the lupins.  I think there is a family of snails which has got a particular taste for them and feast on nothing else!  The poor plants just get completely denuded, all that is left is the bare stem unless I can catch them first!  Other than slug pellets, nothing seems to work, so I have resorted to the basic 'collecting them and throwing them in the sea' technique!

I heard this evening that the total raised at the book sale was £250 - not bad considering the price was 5 books for £2!  -  and £500 made in the cafe.  The Village Hall Committee were very pleased, as there is a bill for recent roof repairs due any day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.