Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Scotch . . .

Now how did I arrive at scotch from check? I started with the use of the transitive verb: to stop or block; restrain or hinder. I remembered the word scotch as in a wedge or block to stop the turning or slippage of a wheel. There are a lot more definitions. Good old Scottish Chamber's also directs to the Scots word chack a hasty small meal or snack; a nip or pinch  . . . No arty-farty photography here just plain illustration.

Being lazy I snapped one of the chocks that check the movement of the trailer (it's on a slight slope). It's also good practice to scotch the wheels of a car when replacing a flat with the spare . . .

I didn't even get as far as illustrating a chess check.

Thanks Laurie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.