An Artist's Life

By MariB

Archie Bray Clay Studios

Took the New Yorkers on the road to see the Archie Bray Foundation in Helena while we were camping. We met some of the current students, most of which were from eastern states, Serbia and Japan. I always love the freshness of student work and each made a joyous statement.....from giant heads to a ghostly tea party. The giant "Woman in Black"arrested our eyes and we talked for quite a while with Josh, the artist.(extras. The 15 foot tall "Gates"are a play on the actual location of The Gates of the Mountains, where we fished. 
I studied my claywork in the early 60s under the tutelage of Peter Voulkos, who learned his marvelous craft form my other teacher, Francis Senska. Those were magical times. Of course, the Bray has grown like Topsy and is a national treasure. I am proud of my association with its history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.