Meadow Pipit

Spotted this little Meadow Pipit while Lottie and I were out for our evening walk tonight.  From its flight, I thought at first it was a skylark, but was pleasantly surprised to see it was a pipit.  I've not seen one close up before, a pretty little thing.  

We had a trip into the town today to buy some wire mesh to fence the rabbits out from the garden. I really wish a polite notice to quit would do the trick - I don't want to have to barricade the garden, but I just don't want them anywhere near my plants!  Bought some more sage too, to replace what they, or the sparrows have eaten!  

We had Lottie with us, so instead of going to a cafe for lunch, we got fish and chips and ate them down at Inganess beach. Unfortunately there were lots of other folk there, cars and dogs, so it wasn't as peaceful as it might have been, but it was a nice change.  We are so spoilt in that we are used to having beaches to ourselves, but Inganess is very close to Kirkwall and so popular for lunchtime dog walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.