lynnjones7186

By lynnjones7186

Street art

This wonderful work of art is on a wall heading towards some of our favourite restaurants so I have passed it several times.  Last night we traveled home in a song taew which stopped in just the right place for me to get a shot.   This work is of a Hill Tribe lady.  These ladies keep very much to the old traditions and wear traditional costumes.  To me it is showing that this way of life is slowly diminishing, her grandchildren will probably only wear the traditional costumes on special occasions and, hopefully, pipe smoking will be a thing of the past.  The costumes are beautiful and are generally hand woven, although I'm sure that factory produced replicas can be found on tourist aimed  market stalls. 

We've had a couple of sudden heavy bouts of rain.  One just as we were getting out of the pool, there was a double rainbow, but I didn't have my camera or phone with me; and one just as we got out of the grab taxi on our way to dinner.  Fortunately we were very close to the entry so we didn't get wet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.