Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Japanese Cars Everywhere!

Today was the day of the JDM auto show at Castle Combe race course. There were 4 of us from our club who camped here last night (see yesterday’s blip). By 630am, just in case we weren’t awake already, we started to hear some of the other 1500 vehicles arriving, their noisy engines providing a more than adequate alarm clock!

This is an event I never would have guessed I’d have been interested in before I bought Alfie, my Campervan. JDM stands for ‘Japanese Domestic Market’, representing the ‘grey imports’ of used Japanese cars into the UK. I now know that this is quite a thing! Most of the cars on show today were very different from the Toyota Alphards that make up our club! It was fun to walk around and see some of the interesting (and much smaller!) vehicles! There were other Toyotas, Hondas, Nissans, Subarus and Suzukis, maybe more.

There was also time to watch some of these vehicles racing around the track. But most of the time we just enjoyed spending time with the other members of our club. We were a smaller group than last year - almost 30 of us. Not all the Alphards had been converted into campers, but many had and it’s always fun to look at the others and get ideas from each other. Some were cooking and sharing bacon rolls, and there was lots of cake and tea and coffee to enjoy. It was a great day out!

When the event ended, I made my way back to the campsite where I’d been staying with my sister and had a very enjoyable hour and a half drive through beautiful scenery. I was back in time to see my sister’s granddaughters before their bedtime. They were happy to see me back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.