Masterclass

Mountain Leader Assessment day 2.
Security on Steep Ground.
My favourite.

Today's blip shows my group getting a masterclass from a local....

We swapped the groups over today so they'd get some different input and a different set of first impressions would be made. I took my group out along Mickleden and then took a fairly direct line steeply up the fell heading towards Gimmer. We moved over scree and boulder fields and progressed onto bluffs and scrambling terrain.
What I wanted to see as an Assessor was good personal movement skills, client coaching and care and an understanding of consequences. Whilst eventually we have to get the rope out and run through scenarios I spent far more time looking at judgement and decision making, making sure the candidates knew and could implement the position of maximum effectiveness.
As the day drew to a close, in what can only be described as challenging conditions I let the group, tired and à little too relaxed, go wrong and descend into a (potentially) horrendous gully above Raven Crag. Just as they began to realise I stopped them and they collectively rescued themselves and worked out a strategy. It involved looking at a map....
All in all an excellent day. My favourite day to train and assess, the day I learn the most about the candidates, and for me, the day I begin to know who'll pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.