and through the wire...

By hesscat

Why The Fi?

I have been waiting years for this day... years and years... every since there were discussions about rural wi-fi in the area because BT were never going to lay a fibre-optic cable to our house. I think most people's ISP contracts last about 18 months and about a month after I begun our current one with BT in January 2018, a community broadband group over the hills announced they were expanding up to the hills that look over us. It went about a year ago and I've been waiting for our contract to reach the end (next month) before ordering it... I now have a month to make sure we are happy with it before dumping our BT landline!

So they've fitted a wi-fi dish that is pointing to that hill in the background. You can just see the wi-fi mast in the middle on the hill above the sheep. The advertised speeds were 30Mbps download/15 upload, and an earlier site visit said we'd probably get less. When they connected today... 75Mbps up, 25 down.... ooshya bandit. I had thought we were upgrading to 5 year old speeds but oh yes those number will keep us going. I am sure it will vary as weather changes etc but considering it costs less than we are paying for BT then that's fine...  BT speeds were 3.5Mbps down, 0.2Mbps up!!

Tonight's blip uploaded in 4s... it usually takes several minutes... or even times out... enough time to waffle and waffle... does that mean I will have less time to waffle? Hmmm... what's the point in it uploading in 4s if I then spend several minutes waffling as usual... on that note...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.