misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Surprise Birth

A very Wild Wednesday in my compost bin! I lifted the lid to add a vew items and who did I see but my favourite garden snake curled up in the warmth. I haven't seen her for over a year. Usually she is in there shedding her skin.
At first she looked rather lumpy until I saw the tiny head of her baby!
I don't know why her eye looks a cloudy blue. She stuck her red tongue out at me a few times when I put a few things in.Then I closed the lid again and let the family have happy snake time.
You may notice a slug or two sticking to the inside of the bin. I wonder whether snakes eat them. I can only hope. Or perhaps toads eat them?
Yesterday I disturbed a large golden toad while weed whacking (strimming). There was a smaller golden toad -- perhaps the male, just outside the compost bin. 
This is more reptilian wildlife than I have see in the garden in years!
Exciting to know the garden is healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.