CL30417JG

By Juan_G_Russo

Concrete and Steel

Today's overcast skies led me to St. Johns, a neighborhood in Portland, for the first time.  It is here that the St. Johns bridge spans the  Columbia river near its confluence with the Willamette river.  

Below the bridge and on the banks of the Columbia I found a beautiful park (Cathedral Park,  and my blip for today.  Our area of Oregon has many overcast days.  I am trying to work out the best way to approach photography in the absence of sun light and sharp shadows.

The photo is of one of the pillars that support the suspension bridge cables, shot from the base located in the park.

At the park I met Daniel, a professional photographer, and enjoyed a bit of shop talk,  extracting some ideas of places to explore with a camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.