Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Where our attention goes...

Where our attention/focus goes
Energy flows.

In other words, where we focus all our attention, all our energy is concentrated on this particular point. So it is a wise choice to be aware of the subject of our attention and how it makes us feel.

I was looking out of my window on a grey day this morning (the sun is expected back this afternoon). As you know by now, I live in the town, but out of the centre. When I went out onto my balcony, on the road side, I focused my attention on the cheerful colour of my window-boxes and I was drawn into the wonderful amount of green there was around the houses and I suddenly felt so lucky and happy. Imagine all those trees and bushes and green grass in the town! So often, I just see buildings and traffic and bustling people, but today I focused my attention on the beauty I can see and it made me feel very happy and fortunate. 
"All this", I said to myself, "shops within close walking distance and a bus at the top of my road!"

Postscript:
I've been watching D-Day75 on television with a great deal of emotion.
I heard this poem being read out:
"The battle raged in Normandy
Many lives were lost
The war must end in victory
And this must be the cost.

When my life is over and I reach the other side
I'll meet my friends from Normandy
And shake their hands with pride."

Poem by Cyril Crain
Read by Kenneth Hay, MBE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.