A New England Landscape

Dear Diary,

A pretty common scene around here just now.  Perhaps this fellow has just decided to let his field lay fallow this year or maybe, like so many others, he's waiting for it to dry out.  Unfortunately more rain today.  What really drew my eye to this was the lines in the field.  It reminded me of my teaching days when the lesson was, "one point perspective".  If you trace those lines in the field they will all converge at one point. The phenomenon always tickled my young students.  I guess, once an art teacher, always an art teacher!

Today, is the 75th anniversary of the D-Day invasion of Europe in World War II.  I always get a little teary eyed on this day thinking of my dad and the war he fought.  While he wasn’t part of the initial invasion, he fought through some of the biggest battles of the war, like the Battle of the Bulge.  They were, indeed, the “greatest generation”.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.