BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Nostalgia

We used to say
 'The other man's grass is always greener'


 or we would say
 'The grass is always greener on the other side'
 when we were feeling envious or dissatisfied.


 We meant that,
 even if our plates were piled high
 with glorious food,
 the person at the next table
 always appeared to be eating something tastier


 or, however fast our car would go,
 our neighbour's car would go faster.


 That was the trouble-
 we never were satisfied.
 We always wanted more.
 We always wanted to go faster.


 Anyway, off you go.
 I can see you're bored.


 Tell you what though,
 before you come
 to visit me again
 I'll find my photo album.
 Show you some pictures of me
 when I was your age.


 Pictures of me standing, not on concrete,
 but on grass.


 I expect you'll find it hard to believe
 that there was such stuff


 and how green it was.


In My Life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.