PeteWpics

By PeteWpics

Wild iris by the River Great Ouse

Everyday this week I have been expecting rain which so far hasn't materialised. Oh the joys of being a pessimist, there are so many unexpected bonuses around the corner! With another imminent deluge in mind I hoofed it across the bridge this morning to take some pix. Half an hour later I was down on my knees (as you do) trying to photograph this iris and I heard a strange wooshing sound, not unlike the sound of a passing train. I knew I was too far from the rail track for it to be a train and I couldn't see any unusual vehicles on the road. Then I realised the sound was coming from the river but I could see no boats. I scrambled down the bank just in time to see a wave travelling upstream against the flow. Hailing from the South West and growing up not too far away from the River Severn I immediately recognised it as a tidal bore, though not of River Severn dimensions. I managed to grab a quick shot before it disappeared around the bend of the river so I have added it as an extra. When I got home I did some research on Google and discovered that I had witnessed the Wiggenhall Wave. 
For your information - there are 60 rivers in the world with this phenomenon, of which the UK has 11. The Wiggenhall Wave is so called because it normally travels from Kings Lynn as far as Wiggenhall 10 miles to the south. Occasionally it will travel as far as Salters Lode or Denver ( I was close to Salters Lode this morning). So, another thing I have learnt about my new home. I bet everybody else knew this already :-) BTW I am certain it will be chucking it down tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.