Bambi!

I am so excited to present to you the latest deer to arrive at my favourite spot....she was so brand new that she was still wobbly on her legs. Sadly, she has a scratch/gash in  her side but I am hoping that it looks far worse than it is and that momma will lick that up and help heal it quickly.  If this is the area where she was born (which it likely was), there are lots of branches and fallen limbs that are jutting up.  Easily falling into one of those may have caused such an injury. I took a video so that people could  hear her bleating like a lamb....adorable.  However, because I cannot remember not to make comments, it is too embarrassing to hear me talk to her  ; )

Oh my!  I almost forgot to add the extra.....I was so surprised to see that fawn have blue eyes just like human babies!!  So cool!!  : )))

I knelt down at the edge of the grassy area and she came wobbling over to me.  I touched her head which was oh so soft and then she went past me into the woods which had better coverage.  I saw her go a distance and then stop and settle in.  I do believe their survival instinct is superb and she will do just fine.  Likely momma is busy getting nourishment for herself and soon will return to care for her.

I was absolutely thrilled to see her so close. I could have easily missed her with the grasses so tall!

Crazy old day at work...two out of three students in my classroom had huge meltdowns today.  I felt quite 'renewed' after seeing the fawn, though, so all is good  : )

Take care....

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.