Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

A clash of reality and fantasy

A strange day. After the pleasure and normality of yesterday comes the existential crisis of today. Most of the day spent drifting in and out of consciousness and a strange, vivid dreaming involving a mixture of people from my past, one girl in particular, the Western sea coast of Scotland and its islands, boats I've known and ships dredged up from Victorian technology and pure fantasy and featuring a cast of characters and series of events drawn from both memory and parts of my imagination I haven't encountered before. The waking parts have included a harsh clarity of my present and likely future circumstances and a sense of loss for the past and the potentials that will not now be realised.

Probably something to do with the elevated levels of opiates and the battle going on between the antibiotics and the infection in my jaw. I am seeking escape into the distraction of iPad and Google.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.