Old door

My longest post hip walk yet, 10km with the Crook WI ladies, I had no idea they were going to take me on such a long walk. We did have two very long coffee stops. I was persuaded to go because they were going to walk the coffin route from Rydal to Grasmere and having recently bought a book on the Corpse Roads of Cumbria , I was really looking forward to walking a bit of history.  A bit disappointed with the walk, isn't that how it is when you are really looking forward to something. The coffin rest (extra) looked much too new. I was more taken by this ancient door with  a skull above it. That really does look old.
I think I'll stick to searching for lime kilns, in fact one of my walking pals who has lived in the village for 50 years, was a mine of information on where to find them. Watch this space. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.