Beewriter

By Beewriter

Blipmeet!!!!!

It was a rainy, horrible drive up the M6 to Windermere, but it was only drizzling by the time we parked up in Bowness-on-Windermere. Jude was my support team...she had brought food, but I was too nervous to eat.

We got the ferry across to Brockhole in time for me to squeeze into my wetsuit. With the poor weather they were compulsory today. The weather had been so bad that they had reduced the earlier mile swims to half miles. By one thirty it had improved a bit so my wave was to swim 1.2km which is about three quarters of a mile. I was about to register my time chip when fellow blipper, Fizzerella, came up to say hello. Amongst all that neoprene and those unflattering pink hats she recognised my number from yesterday’s blip...amazing. It was so nice to meet her, albeit briefly.

Then it was time to go. It was a bit choppy but once I got into my rhythm and regulated my breathing I was okay. It was hard when we made the first turn as the waves bashed you a bit, but the homeward leg was easier.

I had wobbly legs when I got out but I felt fantastic. When we got back to Bowness-on-Windermere we got fish’n’ chips before driving home. Now I’m shattered and will be asleep very so.....zzzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.